Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


Satanta High School Scholars’ Bowl Gears Up for New Season

By Brian Duran

Satanta Scholars’ Bowl has earned a reputation for excellence with four state titles, including one in 2017. This year the goal is for the team is to begin its journey back to the state championship. Returning players from last year’s state championship team include team captain Adan Gutierrez, Andrew Heimerich, Jaylon Essix, and Ella Burrows. These students will compete with two yet-to-be-determined teammates at the season opener in Meade on October 15.


In addition to the returning state team, Satanta scholars’ bowl has 13 additional members: Abigail Purcell, Ayden Garcia, Brian Duran, Brooklyn Gonzalez, Carl Kunselman, Erick Olivas, Heidi Neef, Jody Zimmerman, Lorelei Widger, Preston Clingenpeel, Sami Small, Sicily Jackson, and Sydney McKinney.


The team is coached by Ryan Burrows who is set to begin his 21st season as a coach. When asked about his teams’ successes, Burrows said: “The success of my students is based on years of preparation and hours of practice, neither of which would be important with having access to highly intelligent team members who have had excellent academic preparation within their school. I look forward to the challenges of a new season."