Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


Satanta Student Council Recognizes Outstanding Student, Teacher

By Ryan Burrows

On Monday, May 6, 2019, Satanta Student Council President Houston Friend and Vice-president Ella Burrows announced the winners of the Janie Lutz Student of the Year Award and the Janie Lutz Teacher of the Year Award, two awards that were established in 2018. The winner of the student recognition was Kris Wagner; the teacher recognition went to Mrs. Courtney Dunn.


In describing Kris, Friend said, “He can often be found on the football field, the basketball court, or throwing discus at track meets, although we all know that’s not the real reason he shows up. I’m actually pretty sure I’ve never been to an event with this student where he doesn’t know at least one person. Although he is always busy with his involvement in student council, FBLA, S-Club, Science and History Club, and FFA, he is in attendance at nearly every school and community activity. You can always count on him to be your biggest fan and loudest supporter, and he never fails to put a smile on your face. This year he stepped up his farming and ranching and leadership game by serving as the Southwest District FFA Sentinel, which is just another way he has made Satanta proud throughout his high school career. This year’s student of the year goes by many names: K-Wag, Wagner, Kris, and Kristopher, but he is known as a friend to all. Kris, thank you for your support, encouragement, and willingness to go above and beyond for all of us.”


Burrows, in identifying the Teacher of the Year, said: “This year’s SHS “Janie Lutz Teacher of the Year” is the only person I know who actually likes warm Gatorade and is best remembered for accidentally driving down the wrong lane on the turnpike at state FBLA. More seriously, this woman has mad typing and Photoshop skills, can find the mistake in your accounting in under 30 seconds, and has proved to all of us that she seriously is Wonder Woman. From making sure our school website is the best out there, to helping Mr. Dusin design the basketball uniforms, there really isn’t anything she can’t do. She is the reason we have the best programs for sporting events in the league and a great yearbook every year. I’m pretty sure our school wouldn’t be able to function without her. On behalf of the SHS Student Council, thank you for your constant support and encouragement, for telling us what we need to hear, and for making all of us the best we can be. We don’t say it enough, but thank you for all you do. Congratulations, Mrs. Courtney Dunn.”

Burrows also spoke on behalf of Student Council in recognizing Satanta PK-12 Principal Heather Stegman. Burrows said during this recognition, “This year’s Principal of the Year is Mrs. Heather Stegman. While this isn’t an official award, it should be! In her first year here at Satanta and her first year as a principal, Mrs. Stegman has experienced it all. From the very beginning, she has been all in, and has always gone the extra mile for all of us. Mrs. Stegman, thank you for all the late nights and early mornings when you’re up working to make our school the best it can be. Thank you for never giving up on us, for supporting us in everything we do, and for simply putting up with all of us. All of our accomplishments this year wouldn’t have been possible without you, and we are incredibly lucky to have you.”

Burrows and Friend ended by thanking members of the USD 507 classified staff including school custodians, bus drivers, and cooks. SHS Student Council plans to recognize these unsung heroes by giving them a sweet treat during Teacher Appreciation Week.