Satanta High School Scholars’ Bowl

The Satanta High School Scholars’ Bowl team placed third at the 1A Div. I State Scholars’ Bowl meet on February 11, 2023, at Fairfield High School in Langdon. 

The team of Nohemi Miramontes, Kara Kunselman, Sean Wagner, Edwin Arana, Oscar San Juan, and Braden Hoskinson qualified for state competition by placing second at the Regional Meet at South Gray. 

The team opened play with a dominating performance in pool play, defeating Yates Center, Central Christian Academy, Rock Hills, and Decatur County before dropping a round to Centralia. 

In the finals, Satanta defeated Kiowa County, Little River, and Yates Center (a second time), but lost to Hodgeman County and Rock Hills, teams that placed first and second (respectively) overall. It was notable that three of the top four teams at state this year were from the SPIAA League: Hodgeman (first), Satanta (third), and Kiowa County (fourth).

After the meet, the team enjoyed an evening in Wichita at the mall, returning home on Sunday after a visit to Barnes and Noble and a celebratory lunch. 

The Indians’ new 2023 third-place trophy will take its place alongside Satanta’s seven state championship trophies (2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2013, and 2014) and its three runner-up state trophies (2012, 2015, and 2016). These teams were all coached by Ryan Burrows, assisted by Joyce Apsley.

A new banner will be added to the main gym and commemorative t-shirts will be designed and ordered soon.